So, while this has nothing to do with SD training. It’s fun and kind of silly.

Today was bath day. Holly was starting to get a little greasy, so it was tub time. This time though, I thought it’d be fun to try a new grooming idea that I recently heard about on a dog lover’s forum I frequent.

Some people enjoy pampering themselves with sugar scrubs, which helps exfoliate and rejuvinate the skin. I came accross this recipe for a dog sugar scrub:

Mix a couple spoons of brown sugar and enough olive oil for it to become slushy. For dogs with exceptionally dry skin, add a teaspoon of honey.

Rub the mixture gently on the dog’s skin for a few minutes. Rinse with lukewarm water and wash as normal.

I used raw, white sugar, since we had no brown sugar around.

Oil and sugar mix.

I rubbed it in and waited for a bit.

But moooom...

Top view before rinsing.

After waiting a few minutes I rinsed it out and used her normal shampoo to finish everything up. Holly was really happy when it was over.

Out? Please??

She has a very unique way of drying herself off. She licks herself dry.

Getting all the wet off.

Paws too.

 Now, several hours later, the drama of bathtime is over, and life is good again.

What bath?

 

To be honest, she came out a litter greasier than she started out, but it’s probably because I didn’t wash her out thoroughly enough afterwards. It did do an excellent job of making all the loose hairs easy to brush out. I’ll do it again sometime, but not something I’ll do too often.

Until later,

Kat & Holly

