What a busy day it has been for the Pretty Princess and I.

We got up early, went out for a short walk, and loaded up to go see my therapist. Holly was excellent in the car, she lay quietly ate her treats, and waited for us to get to our destination.

In the car while we're on the road.

 This is huge progress for Holly and I. When I first adopted her she hated car rides. The whole ride home from the shelter where we picked her up she panted, and whined, shivered, and drooled. Now she’s able to ride quietly and calmly in the back of the car. I’m on the lookout for a good seat belt for her, so if anyone has any suggestions I’d love to hear them!

At my therapist’s office she was very, very well behaved. There were only a few times when I had to remind her not to sniff, or pull. The rest of the time she either had her head in my lap, or cat-napping on the floor. For the sake of privacy of those who work and go there I won’t be taking any pictures from the inside of the building of Holly.

A wink for me from the Pretty Princess as we prepare to load up and head out.

We then headed over to Freddy’s so my mom could pick up some stuff. I took the opportunity to wander around with Holly, practice her warning cue, basic obedience, focus, and ignoring other people and interesting smells. She did beautifully with her obedience, and ignoring people. She tried to sniff things occasionally, but a quick redirecting cue and she remembered her manners. Her warning cue still needs a bit of work, but practice makes perfect. Focus was excellent in the beginning, but by the end she was starting to need more reminding. Much better and longer than she’s done before.

Yes mom?

In the clothes section, practicing being invisible.

A few minutes before we left admiring the scarves.

So all in all, today’s training outing has been a complete and utter success! This was also the first time that Miss Holly worked in her new harness, it was wonderful, she was sooo much more comfortable.

The rest of today will be spent in more fun, doggy activities.

Until later,

Kat & Holly

