Yes, I’m an awful blogger. I haven’t updated in a while due to some huge happenings going on over here.

First the update.

Since Holls washed out she’s been so much happier. She’s just more excited and happy. She’s no longer stressed out all the time, it’s like she knows now that she can goof off and chase squirrels and so long as she comes back when called, I’m just fine with it.

She still does her tasks, but she does them because she loves to, not because she has to. She still comes with me to my therapist’s office, since I have to go, and I cannot function there without her.

Holly, Nimby, and Edna stopping to sniff the dandelions... Only Nimby was complient though...

Now for the announcement…

Even before Holly washed out I had a really worrying gut feeling that she wouldn’t be the best SD candidate. So, I did a little research, just in case so that I wold have a Plan B.

At first it was mostly into Labs. I found some exellent breeders in the area, so when Holly washed out I talked to my Mom about it. Now, my Mom isn’t a dog person really, she likes them when she can be their indulgent grandma and not have to worry about their care. She’s really not into big, hairy dogs. So I was absolutely shocked when she asked me,

“Well Kat, what about a Newfoundland?”

My jaw hit the floor. Newfies are an absolutely perfect fit for my mentallity and for my disability, I hadn’t even thought of them though because when I asked my Mom about a Dane she had put her foot down because she didn’t want a dog that could drool on the table.

Soo… with Newfies in mind I started doing a little more research. I found that they were exactly what I was looking for in a Service Dog, minus the drool, but honestly, it’s not like Holly hasn’t had her own floogers.

Armed with my new found Newfie knowledge, I found several excellent breeders and wrote a loooong e-mail to them.

A tip to anyone looking at breeders, unless they say on their website that they’ll respond promptly to e-mails, don’t bother. Just call them, it’s so much easier, and they’re always up to a long conversation about their beloved beasts.

There were two that caught my eye. Both had litters breedings planned for November, both had had dogs go to SD homes, and both were more than willing to answer my questions.

I was perfectly ready to put down my deposit and wait, but then another breeder on the NCA website caught my eye. I looked at her website, and fell in love with her dogs, and her obvious adoration for them. She also had a litter that had been born very recently. I went ahead and e-mailed her, and because anyone who knows me also knows I have a hard time waiting, I called her two days after I wrote the e-mail.

She was gone at a dog show with several of her pooches, but her assistant breeder was there taking care of the pups and the dogs. We chatted for two and a half hours. Then, several hours later, the breeder herself called me from the show to talk.

Luck of all luck, it turned out she had one female left because someone had decided not to adopt a puppy. After a long discussion with both me and my Mom she decided that we would be a good home for the lil’ girl.

So… without further adieu I would like to introduce you to:

‘Avalon Bey’s Lady of Ravens’ or ‘Morrighan’

her even more abbreiviated name will be ‘Moora’ since even Morrighan is hard to say quickly.

Her Dam is:

‘CH. Avalon Bey’s Lady of the Lake’ or ‘Raven’

Her Sire is the fourth best Newfie in the country:

‘GCH. Cypress Bay JL Snazzy Story at Avalon Bey’ or ‘Snazzy’

She and her siblings are currently 2-3 weeks old. Here are some of the pictures of the litter at one week old that her breeder sent me.

Raven and her pups.

Tired Mama

Sleepy little puppy too.

I have no idea which one is Moora, but they’re all absolutely adorable! The wonderful breeder has promised me more pictures shortly, and I will of course share them when I get them.

They will be going home when they are twelve weeks old, so in about 10 weeks little Moora will journey cross country to us! Holly’s going to be so irritated. Puppies without fail always pull on her ears. No worries though, she’ll be getting extra love and food so she can keep up with the baby and not feel left out.

Until Later!

Kat & Holly