With Holly having washed out from Service work I’ve been trying to find other things to keep her busy. She’s a very, very active pup, so she really needs something to do, and I like to have a goal.

I’ve also been feeling incredibly guilty because she hasn’t been getting as much attention since Bri came and I’ve been working nonstop with her. So this last week I put my mind to finding her a job.

The Pretty Princess needs a job.

I thought about drafting, since she enjoys it. Unfortunately the breed clubs don’t have very many events and it doesn’t seem like the events are open for mixed breeds.

I looked at recreational hunting for a (very) brief period of time. Not my thing, at all. Electronic collars, letting your dog off to run after prey, possibly never see them again, shock them for trailing anything that isn’t what you want… eh, not really my style. I even had a bird dog hunter tell me he’d never want to Coon hunt because the dogs often don’t come back. After that I threw it to the wind.

Nosework and tracking sounded really fun, and that’s on my “want to” list. For now though, not going to happen. Classes are expensive and far away, and since Holly’s a mix she can’t compete for any titles with the AKC. Yes, I’ll admit it, I’m very attracted to the idea of competing for a big shiny ribbon and the titles.

Agility, another one on my list, but I don’t know much about it, and it’s another thing you have to take classes for. Classes are expensive, so again, it’ll have to wait. Hopefully we’ll be able to do it in the future!

Obedience sounded fun, but intense. I’ve got a dog buddy who works her Duck Toller in obedience, and judging by their shows it is hard. Maybe later if Holly enjoys competing enough and we get that precise, but we’re doing this for fun.

This all led to Rally being our sport, for now.

I’ve decided that come next February we’ll go to our first Rally show and see how it goes!

I ran Holly through the list of cues used in Rally Novice, and she was perfect! A few things need tightening up on, like her moving down, and we’ll slowly have to fade out the treats and rewards, but other than that she’s a star! I was really surprised at just how good at it she was, I thought there would be a bunch of things that needed teaching, but nope, just perfecting!

I plan on tightening everything up at home, and then slowly working her in more and more distracting environments. After all, we’ve got until February before there are any shows around here. She’ll be golden by the time that rolls around!

Until Later!

Kat, Holly & Brigantia

