Today I just got some of the most devastating news I’ve ever recieved.

Today the Service Dog community mourns the tragic loss of one of their own.

Grace, handler of the three-legged Border Collie and Service Dog extraordinaire, John, passed away on January 26, 2012.

Her death was believed to be caused by a blood clot that traveled to her lungs.

She was just twenty-two years old. Today would have been her birthday.

While I never had the privilage of meeting Grace in person, we became friends via the online Service Dog community. She helped me grow in so many ways, taught me a lot from Service Dog handling, to hemp jewelry making. She supported me in times of trouble, and I did my best to return the favor. My mom had offered her and John a place with us had she needed it.

She was smart, funny, tough as nails, and an incredibly kind, thoughtful person who was always there for help and support.

She will be missed by all, and remembered by all who knew her.

Grace we love you, we miss you. Thank you for all the knowledge you shared while you were here. That time was far too short.

May the road rise to meet you,
May the wind be always at your back,
May the Sun shine warm upon your face,
And until we meet again,
May the Moon and Stars guide and guard you.

Take care dear friend.

Kat, Holly & Brigantia

