What a year it has been! Some lessons have been learned indeed.

I moved to Georgia in January and stayed there until November. I don’t regret the decision since it led to some needed life experience, lessons, and meeting some wonderful, wise, kind-hearted folks. I got some professional job experience and learned a whole lot about giving trust to people who don’t deserve it.

Coming back I learned that I will be perfectly happy to never leave my beautiful Pacific Northwest home again, and that no one is worth leaving my friends, family and most of all my dogs. I will never make that mistake again.

Holly turned 7 this year. She’s getting a little gray around the muzzle but still continues to be her busy, elegant self. She still dislikes face-to-face interaction with other dogs, though she simply ignores them unless the issue is forced. She has grown more and more confident over the years. I’m so proud of her and how far we have come together. Here’s to another wonderful year with my opinionated hound dog!

Bri turned 2. She has really come into her own this year. Her self-control is beautiful, her precision is getting better and better. She is no longer shy with other dogs at all, but confident, playful and polite. She is still shy meeting strangers, but no longer shies away. She’ll take food, sniff and accept pets. She has even grown to accept strange children! We started draft training in earnest and this coming year I have high hopes for her continued socialization, training and maybe some competitions.

What a year! Hoping that 2014 will be better and more successful for me and that it will be just as positive for the pups.

One last picture series from 2013 for you:

Holly likes her bed. Bri was on it. Holly didn't care and showed her baby sis by lying down on her.

Holly likes her bed. Bri was on it. Holly didn’t care and showed her baby sis by lying down on her.

Bri dealt for about 3 minutes with this familial mistreatment.

Bri dealt for about 3 minutes with this familial mistreatment.

Then Bri gave up and Holly was left looking smug with the successful repossession of her bed.

Then Bri gave up and Holly was left looking smug with the successful repossession of her bed.

Happy New Year!

Kat, Holly & Bri

 

 

